My vision board: Self-improvement is an on-going process

img_9661

Today I spent half a day attending a “Vision Board” workshop. While I have created digital versions of a vision board before, it was nice to create a tangible one that I could keep in my room. The purpose of a vision board is to allow you to visualize the things you want to achieve or manifest in your life. Mine was heavily focused on my career aspirations.

I’m a lover of bold colors; I like to conceptualize ideas and materialize them. For me, the visual elements of the board were very important, especially since I want to make a creative living.

Part of the workshop included a mediation session, it was the first time I’d ever tried it. I actually felt so relaxed and calm afterward. In fact, during the mediation, I literally zoned everything out and my mind was not wandering or thinking about anything. I just saw a blank canvas.

The main takeaway that I got from the workshop is that we have to train our brains to be proactive. Unlearning conditioning that has been placed upon us as little children and understanding that our destiny is truly in our hands. What you put out into the world is what you get back.

If you choose to stay in a negative headspace you’ll simply attract more negativity. On the other hand, if you decide to work through the hard times, and train yourself to show gratitude for things you have while letting go of what you can’t control, you become more mindful.

It may sound like fluffly words, but through my own path to self-discovery, I have found these things to be very true. Self-awareness is something you acquire with life experience and the deeper you dig, the clearer things start to become.

Life is not perfect and it will always have its hardships, but being aware of our strengths and weaknesses helps make the journey a little less stressful!

I don’t believe in new years resolutions, I believe that self-improvement is an on-going process.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the idea of creating a vision board 🙂

    1. Sarah Nazim says:

      You should totally make one! It’s a fun project 🙂

Leave a Reply

