Leah McHenry understands the new digital music industry

Leah McHenry understands the new digital music industry

Leah McHenry is a Canadian symphonic metal artist with celtic influences who has managed to sustain her music career by targeting a dedicated niche of fans online. She is by far one of the most forward-thinking musicians I have come across to date! While most of the industry professionals are void of foresight and innovation, she truly understands where the music industry is headed.

Musicians now more than ever have to be digital savvy, and like I mentioned in my previous blog post, Internet Radio is the future, so artists and indie labels that want to stay ahead of the competition need to understand the NEW DIGITAL MUSIC INDUSTRY.

Musicians need to be entrepreneurs, and those who don’t have any business background or digital marketing expertise OR the money to hire a consultant are going to suffer the most unfortunately. Luckily, Leah has developed online courses designed to help musicians navigate the digital space and learn how to create streams of income.

While I do have a digital marketing background myself and a few tricks up my sleeve, I will be personally consulting with Leah in the near future in regards to my own music, because I think she’s that good! [Update: I signed up for the program and it’s great, all the course content is organized in a way to ensure you cover all the bases. I’ll keep you posted on the overall outcome :)]

Leah McHenry offers a free webinar and if you are  persuaded you can purchase the online courses; it’s definitely worth your time if you are an artist! I wouldn’t blog about it otherwise, lol.

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. JayBii says:

    She’s the real deal. I just saw her webinar and after seeing her screenshots of her Tunecore financials, I’m completely sold. I read some typical hater comments on Reddit about her but doesn’t effect me (Some ppl just choose to complain about everything no matter what you tell or show them). I’m working on some decent size Youtube channels to feature my track (My genre is hard trap) which is in works (Just need to master my song a tad bit better and clear up some elements in the track), then I’ll get her course to start creating a pro fan base, etc. Congrats on signing up Sarah! I’ll be doing a review of her on my blog as well.

    1. Sarah Nazim says:

      That’s awesome Jay! The reality is that musicians have to be entrepreneurs, but for some reason a lot of them don’t think that way. Like any other industry you have to brand yourself and do all the dirty work to build a sustainable career. Can’t wait to hear your stuff 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    I don’t think your link to her music is correct.

    1. Sarah Nazim says:

      Hey there! Thanks for pointing that out. Weird because it was working before. I removed it 🙂

  3. Alcatraz says:

    I agree with your explanation of it. I myself have many know as amateur musicians just figure out how to compose my own songs and write my own novel. But I was fail out in the digital world…..This is my last project, if I am failing to communicate with the global community, I will finish my career.

    1. Sarah Nazim says:

      Hey Alcatraz,

      Keep learning to perfect your songwriting and understanding how to use digital advertising and you never know what could happen!

      Also, try meeting with some local musicians in your area and ask them for some honest feedback about your songs.

      Wishing you much success!

  4. Polly says:

    Thank you so much for your reply. I think I may give it a go. In the end it is just money and I may finally get unstuck when it comes to marketing my music better. Good luck to you too!

  5. Polly says:

    Could you please give any feedback on how you find the online course? Is it worth the money? I am considering enrolling but I am really anxious it is just another scam.

    1. Sarah Nazim says:

      Hey Polly,

      It’s definitely not a scam. I would say it’s most useful if you have no digital marketing or business experience at all.

      There are techniques she teaches so that you target your ads to the best audience. There’s also a private Facebook group you’ll get added to once you sign up where she does live Q&A streams and you can post any questions there.

      For me personally, I have gone through most of the courses, I’ve found the advice on landing pages and email marketing the most useful. Right now I am working on my music, so I haven’t gotten to the stage of promoting yet, but I am pretty confident that my own digital background + her tips will be great! There are people in the program now (in the FB group) who have reported excellent results. This program is comparable to something you would find on Lynda.com, only difference is that it’s catered to digital music marketing, as opposed to consumer goods, retail, etc…

      This is not a sponsored post, so this feedback is purely mine 🙂

      Best of luck!

      1. leilanismith says:

        I signed up and paid for her course. The course does not teach you anything that you couldn’t find out for yourself by searching the internet. She relies heavily on facebook marketing information that is available from facebook itself. They advertise a 60 day refund policy but in order to get your refund you have to prove that you did all of the course lessons and applied the knowledge. You can’t do this within a 60 day window so there is essentially no real or fair refund policy at all. Save your money. You will regret spending it here.

Leave a Reply

